Sheffield Wednesday’s trophy history dates back to 1890 with a raft of early titles featuring on the list of all of the Owls’ triumphs. But how many titles feature in the trophy cabinet at Hillsborough today?

The South Yorkshire natives enjoyed the most prosperous period in Sheffield Wednesday’s history as a club during the early 20th century. Arthur Dickinson delivered a host of titles at Hillsborough as the Owls’ secretary. Few coaches have since been able to replicate what he achieved over 29 seasons.

Dickinson delivered the first of Sheffield Wednesday’s major trophies during the 1889/90 term. They had already lifted a number of regional titles since being founded in 1867. But silverware has proven to be far more scarce during more recent years. So, here is Sheffield Wednesday’s trophy history in full…

Sheffield Wednesday v Plymouth Argyle: Emirates FA Cup First Round
Photo by George Wood/Getty Images

Sheffield Wednesday have won four top-flight trophies

Sheffield Wednesday’s trophy history so far features four top-flight titles but the Owls have not won the highest league in English football since 1930. Dickinson oversaw the first of their four crowns in 1902/03 and even retained their title. Robert Brown would then repeat his predecessor’s successes.

List of Sheffield Wednesday’s top-flight trophies:

1902/03 (English Football League, Division One)




The complete list of how many titles Sheffield Wednesday have won in their history further features five second-tier trophies. Dickinson secured the second-tier title at Hillsborough before overseeing their maiden top-flight honour. It also ensured the club only spent one season out of the top flight.

A number of relegations from the top-flight over the years has also seen the second-tier emerge as Sheffield Wednesday’s most successful competition. They also won it three times during the 1950s.

List of Sheffield Wednesday’s second-tier trophies:

1899/1900 (English Football League, Division Two)





A further flurry of relegations from the second-tier have seen Sheffield Wednesday secure promotion from the third division via the play-offs or automatic promotion places without winning the title, too. The Owls have also previously secured promotion into the top-flight without winning the second-tier.

List of Sheffield Wednesday’s other promotions:

Barnsley v Sheffield Wednesday: Sky Bet League One Play-Off Final
Photo by Andrew Kearns – CameraSport via Getty Images

1949/50 (English Football League, Division Two, second place)

1983/84 (English Football League, Division Two, second place)

1990/91 (English Football League, Division Two, third place)

1979/80 (English Football League, Division Three, third place)

2004/05 (English Football League, League One, beat Hartlepool United 4-2 AET in the play-off final)

2011/12 (English Football League, League One, second place)

2022/23 (English Football League, League One, beat Barnsley 1-0 AET in the play-off final)

Sheffield Wednesday also won the Football Alliance title during their first season of organised league football. The Owls entered the competition as a founding member after failing to secure entry to the Football League. The club would spend three seasons in the league before then joining Division One.

List of Sheffield Wednesday’s Football Alliance trophies:

1889/90 (Football Alliance)

Sheffield Wednesday have won the FA Cup three times

Winning Wednesday
Photo by Topical Press Agency/Getty Images

The FA Cup served as the first major title in Sheffield Wednesday’s list of trophies after the Owls won it at the 15th attempt. Club chiefs initially elected against entering the tournament when it began in 1871 and delayed submitting a team until 1880. The Owls would also reach their first final during 1889/90.

List of Sheffield Wednesday’s FA Cup trophies:

1895/96 (beat Wolverhampton Wanderers 2-1 in the final)

1906/07 (beat Everton 2-1 in the final)

1934/35 (beat West Bromwich Albion 4-2 in the final)

The Owls have won the EFL Cup once

Sheffield Wednesday entered the English Football League Cup (EFL Cup) for the first time in 1966/67. The Owls opted against competing in the tournament during its first six editions. The club also failed to reach the final before then lifting the title in 1990/91, while losing on their only return yet in 1992/93.

List of Sheffield Wednesday’s EFL Cup trophies:

The Sheffield Wednesday team
21 Apr 1991: The Sheffield Wednesday team celebrate after their win in the League Cup Final match against Manchester United at Wembley Stadium in …

1990/91 (beat Manchester United 1-0 in the final)

The Owls have won the Community Shield once

Sheffield Wednesday have also competed in the Community Shield – previously known as the Charity Shield – in the past owing to their trophy history containing FA Cup and top-flight titles. But the Owls have only won the traditional curtain-raiser to the English football term once after two appearances.

List of Sheffield Wednesday’s Community Shield trophies:

1935 (beat Arsenal 1-0)

Every other title lifted at Hillsborough

Sheffield Wednesday’s trophy history also features a number of lesser titles with their list of triumphs starting from when founded in 1867. The Owls played in many regional cups before joining a league.

List of Sheffield Wednesday’s other trophies:

1867/68 (Cromwell Cup, beat Garrick FC 1-0 ASDET in the final)

1876/77 (Sheffield & Hallamshire Senior Cup, beat Heeley 4-3 AET in the final)

1877/78 (beat Attercliffe 2-0 in the final)

1880/81 (beat Ecclesfield 8-1 in the final)

1882/83 (beat Lockwood Brothers 2-1 in a replay of the final)

1886/87 (beat Collegiate 2-1 in the final)

1887/88 (beat Ecclesfield 3-2 in the final)

1894/95 (won in a league format)

1899/1900 (beat Worksop Town 2-0 in the final)

1901/02 (beat Royston United 1-0 in the final)

1902/03 (beat Roundel 5-0 in a replay of the final)

1906/07 (beat Sheffield United Reserves 2-0 in a replay of the final)

1920/21 (beat Barnsley Reserves 2-0 in the final)

1921/22 (beat Barnsley Reserves 2-0 in the final)

1878/79 (Wharncliffe Charity Cup, beat Heeley 3-2 in the final)

1881/82 (beat Heeley 5-0 in the final)

1882/83 (beat Pyebank 4-0 in the final)

1885/86 (beat Heeley 2-0 in the final)

1887/88 (beat Rotherham Town 2-0 in the final)

1899/1900 (won in a league format)

1902/03 (won in a league format)

1904/05 (won in a league format)

1905/06 (won in a league format)

1907/08 (beat Rotherham County 3-2 in the final)

1908/09 (won in a league format)

1910/11 (beat Sheffield United Reserves 3-0 in the final)

1914/15 (beat Sheffield United Reserves 4-1 in the final)

1921/22 (beat Sheffield United Reserves 3-1 in the final)

1924/25 (beat Rotherham Town 3-1 in the final)

1930/31 (beat Sheffield United Reserves 4-0 in the final)

1932/33 (beat Sheffield United Reserves 2-1 in the final)

1937/38 (beat Sheffield United A 4-1 in the final)

1938/39 (beat Norton Woodseats 5-3 in the final)